2019 Scotland

Routes and report

Routes:

Edinburgh - Cairngorms National Park - Findhorn (Findhorn Foundation) - Inverness - North Coast 500
2019.07_Scotland Route
2019.07_Scotland Route

 

North Coast 500
North Coast 500

Report:

If you want to cycle through Scotland, there are two possibilities:
1.) Pre-plan all routes and book all overnight accommodation, ...i.e. riding in any wind and weather; -- > There are no overnight stays in hotels and B&B at short notice!
2.) Take a tent with you and stay spontaneous
Of course we decided for "a tent and spontaneous"...
Ideal conditions for a great bike tour; the Cairngorms National Park, ...if the weather is good! There are good streets, plenty of supermarkets and campsites.
The length of the North Coast 500 (as in the picture, including corner Applecross) is quite exactly 500 miles, about 800km. The west coast is extremely beautiful! The corner of Applecross is just fantastic, and further towards Ullapool - Durness it's super beautiful everywhere. Of course, there is traffic - we were on the road in July - tourists with cars and caravans. The roads are often like a single-lane, the cars actually drive slowly and carefully. I think everyone enjoys the beautiful landscape. On the north coast against Thurso is getting  flatter and flatter. You`ll find bigger supermarkets in Ullapool, Durness and Thurso.
If you must (or will) shorten the trip, do it on the east side, maybe from Latheron. From Latheron you have to cycle on the A9, there is a lot of traffic until Inverness
I recommend: From Dornoch choose the street A949 via Bonar Bridge, follow the way until Inverness, ...do not return to the A9! From Dornoch there is a lot of traffic on the A9, even trucks, I don't find it harmless there!
We were pretty lucky with the weather. I needed the rain jacket maybe for two hours during the whole 1100km and I didn`t use the rain pants. Anyway, I Would take everything with you, incl. waterproof shoe covers, bike gloves, etc.
The campsites do NOT have the same standard as in other Nordic countries, ... Denmark, Norway and Sweden. They have no kitchens where you can protect yourself from the bad weather, or from the countless "midges" (small mosquitos). The mosquitos are there or not, ...if yes, they`ll come in a swarm. If you are in the wrong place at the wrong time, it will be tedious to camp, I would say "almost impossible"! We had problems with mosquitos in two places on the West Coast. But one night later - fortunately - they disappeared, ...maybe because of the wind...!?
We decided to travel home by train. Basel - Paris - London - Edinburgh.
Important note for the train journey by bike: In the TGV you can take the bicycle with you for free, but you have to pack the bike in a case (softcase is enough). At Eurostar (Paris-London), you must check-in, similar to check-in at the airport, ... rather tedious! The bike must be placed at a special counter, "Euro-Dispatch", quite outside the station. You have to pay  (about 50 Euros for one way) for the luggage, "packed" or "not packed" (both possible).  Importnat: you have to add about 2 hours extra, otherwise you will miss the train! I recommend you to give up the bike "not packed". In the "London North Eastern Railway"  (London to North) the transport of bicycles is allowed "unpacked", it has special "velo hooks" on the trains! Important: you have to register the bike, you get a reservation number, nice effect, "no additional costs".
"Scotland in the saddle" is incredibly beautiful, just fantastic... 🙂

2019 Scotland

Route und Bericht

Route:

Edinburgh - Cairngorms National Park - Findhorn (Findhorn Foundation) - Inverness - North Coast 500

2019.07_Scotland-Route
2019.07_Scotland-Route

 

North Coast 500
North Coast 500

Bericht:

Wenn ihr mit dem Velo durch Scotland fahren wollt, bieten sich zwei Möglichkeiten an;
1.) Alle Strecken vorplanen und alle Übernachtungen vorbuchen, ...d.h. bei jedem Wind und Wetter fahren;  --> In Hotels und B&B findet man kurzfristig keine Übernachtungen!
2.) Zelt mitnehmen und spontan bleiben
Natürlich entschieden wir uns für "Zelt und spontan"...
Ideale Bedingungen für eine tolle Velotour findet ihr im Cairngorms National Park , ...falls das Wetter gut ist! Gute Strassen, genügend Einkaufsmöglichkeiten und Campingplätze.
Die Länge des North Coast 500 (wie im Bild, inkl. Ecke Applecross) ist wirklich ziemlich genau 500 Meilen, ca. 800km. Die Westküste ist extrem schön! Die Ecke Applecross ist einfach phantastisch, und weiter Richtung Ullapool - Durness ist's wirklich überall super schön. Natürlich, es hat Verkehr - wir waren im Juli unterwegs - Touristen mit Autos und Caravans. Die Strasse ist oft einspurig, die Autos fahren eigentlich langsam, um- und vorsichtig. Ich denke hier geniessen alle die schöne Landschaft. Auf der Nordküste gegen Thurso wird es flacher, aber nicht weniger schön. Grössere Supermarkte hat es in Ullapool, Durness und Thurso .
Wenn ihr abkürzen müsst oder wollt, macht das im Osten ab ca. Latheron. Ab da seid ihr auf der A9, und es hat Richtung Inverness mehr und mehr Verkehr. Empfehlunng: biegt südlich von Dornoch auf die A949, über die Bonar Bridge, folgend auf Nebenstrassen nach Inverness, ...nicht wieder auf die A9! Ab Dornoch hat es auf der A9 richtig viel Verkehr, auch Lastwagen, ich finde es dort nicht ungefährlich!
Wir hatten glaub's ziemlich Glück mit dem Wetter. Ich hätte die Regenhosen zu Hause lassen können, die Regenjacke benötigte ich auf den ganzen 1100km vielleicht zwei Stunden. Würde natürlich trotzdem alles mitnehmen, inkl. wasserdichte Schuhüberzieher, Velo-Handschuhe, etc.
Die Campingplätze haben NICHT den gleichen Standard wie in anderen nordischen Ländern, ...Dänemark, Norwegen und Schweden. Es hat keine Küchen, wo ihr euch vom schlechten Wetter, oder von den manchmal unzähligen Midges (kleine Mücken, die Stechen) schützen könnt. Empfehlung, "vorher abklären" ob es in der Nähe ein Restaurant oder Pub hat! Die Mücken sind da oder nicht, ...kommen im Schwarm. Wenn ihr zur falschen Zeit am falschen Ort seid, dann wird's mühsam bis "fast unmöglich" zu zelten! Wir hatten an der Westküste an zwei Orten Mücken-Probleme, eine Nacht später waren - zum Glück - keine mehr da. Vielleicht zu viel Wind...!?
Wir entschlossen uns für die An- und Heimreise mit dem Zug. Basel - Paris - London - Edinburgh.
Wichtiger Hinweis für die Zugreise mit Velo: Im TGV müsst ihr das Velo einpacken (Softcase reicht), dann könnt ihr es ohne Probleme mitnehmen, ...ohne zusätzliches Ticket, wie ein "Trolley-Koffer". Im Eurostar (Paris-London) müsst ihr durch einen Check-In, vergleichbar mit dem Check-In am Flughafen, ...eher mühsamer! Das Fahrrad muss an einem speziellen Schalter, "Euro-Dispatch", ziemlich ausserhalb des Bahnhofes "kostenpflichtig" aufgegeben werden, wahlweise "eingepackt" oder "nicht eingepackt". Es ist mit Zusatzkosten verbunden (ca. 50 Euro pro Velo und Weg), und ihr müsst ca 2 Std. zusätzlich einrechnen, sonst verpasst ihr den Zug! Ich empfehle euch das Velo "nicht eingepackt" aufzugeben. In der "London North Eastern Railway" ist der Transport von Velos "uneingepackt" erlaubt, es hat spezielle "Velo-Haken" in den Zügen! Wichtig: man muss das Velo anmelden, man bekommt eine Reservationsnummer, schöner Nebeneffekt, "keine Zusatzkosten".
"Scotland im Sattel" ist echt unglaublich schön, einfach fantastisch... 🙂